What are the 12 Moon Phases in Order?

Are you eager to unlock even deeper insights into your destiny? Let the celestial power of the moon guide you on your journey of self-discovery. Click here to get your FREE personalized Moon Reading today and start illuminating your path towards a more meaningful and fulfilling life. Embrace the magic of the moonlight and let it reveal your deepest desires and true potential. Don’t wait any longer – your destiny awaits with this exclusive Moon Reading!

What are the 12 Moon Phases in Order?

Have you ever looked up at the night sky and marveled at the changing phases of the Moon? From a tiny sliver to a bright full moon and everything in between, the Moon goes through a fascinating cycle of phases that repeat roughly every 29.5 days. Understanding these 12 phases can deepen our appreciation of the celestial dance happening above us. In this blog post, we will explore each of the 12 moon phases in order, their names, and their significance.

1. New Moon

The lunar cycle begins with the New Moon phase when the Moon is positioned between the Earth and the Sun, almost completely hidden from view. This marks the start of a new lunar month and signifies new beginnings. During this phase, the Moon appears as a black silhouette against the sky.

2. Waxing Crescent

As the Moon starts moving away from the Sun, a tiny sliver of the Moon starts to become visible. This phase is known as the Waxing Crescent. The crescent shape is often compared to a smile, indicating the growing strength of the Moon’s energy.

3. First Quarter

As the Moon continues on its orbit, it reaches the First Quarter phase. During this phase, exactly half of the Moon is illuminated and visible from Earth. This is a time of action, progress, and decision-making.

4. Waxing Gibbous

Following the First Quarter phase, the Moon enters the Waxing Gibbous phase. The illuminated portion of the Moon continues to grow as it moves closer to becoming a full moon. The term “gibbous” refers to the shape of this phase – more than a half but not yet fully illuminated.

5. Full Moon

One of the most well-known phases, the Full Moon occurs when the Moon is opposite the Sun, with the Earth in between. This phase is characterized by a fully illuminated Moon, shining brightly in the night sky. The Full Moon symbolizes completeness, abundance, and illumination.

6. Waning Gibbous

As the Moon begins its journey towards the next New Moon, it enters the Waning Gibbous phase. The illuminated portion of the Moon starts to decrease, gradually shifting back towards a half-moon shape. This is a time for reflection, release, and letting go.

7. Third Quarter

Once the Moon reaches the Third Quarter phase, it is again half-illuminated. However, this time it is the opposite side as compared to the First Quarter phase. The Third Quarter phase is associated with seeking balance, making adjustments, and finding harmony.

8. Waning Crescent

The Waning Crescent phase marks the final stages of the lunar cycle before it begins anew. During this phase, only a small portion of the Moon is illuminated, resembling the shape of a slender crescent. It is a period of introspection, rest, and preparation.

9. Balsamic Moon

Also known as the Dark Moon or the Waning Crescent, the Balsamic Moon refers to the last sliver of the Moon visible in the sky before the New Moon. This is a time for deep reflection, spiritual connection, and planning for the future.

10. Dark Moon

The Dark Moon occurs right before the New Moon phase and is a time of stillness and surrender. The Moon is not visible during this phase, creating an opportunity for introspection and setting intentions for the forthcoming lunar cycle.

11. Waxing Crescent

As the Moon begins its ascent towards a New Moon, the Waxing Crescent phase marks the first appearance of the Moon’s crescent shape. It represents new beginnings, fresh energy, and a growing sense of possibility.

12. New Moon

The lunar cycle comes full circle with the New Moon phase. As mentioned earlier, this marks the beginning of a new lunar month, symbolizing renewal, initiation, and the opportunity for a fresh start.


Understanding the 12 phases of the Moon offers us insight into the cyclical nature of life on Earth and the ever-changing universe. Each phase carries its own energy and symbolism, and by tuning into these rhythms, we can align our lives with the natural ebb and flow of the cosmos. So, the next time you look up at the night sky, take a moment to appreciate the Moon’s phase and the powerful influences it has on our planet.

Share the Knowledge

Have you found this article insightful? Chances are, there’s someone else in your circle who could benefit from this information too. Using the share buttons below, you can effortlessly spread the wisdom. Sharing is not just about spreading knowledge, it’s also about helping to make MeaningfulMoon.com a more valuable resource for everyone. Thank you for your support!

What are the 12 Moon Phases in Order?