Vedic Astrology Signs and Their Corresponding Dates

Are you eager to unlock even deeper insights into your destiny? Let the celestial power of the moon guide you on your journey of self-discovery. Click here to get your FREE personalized Moon Reading today and start illuminating your path towards a more meaningful and fulfilling life. Embrace the magic of the moonlight and let it reveal your deepest desires and true potential. Don’t wait any longer – your destiny awaits with this exclusive Moon Reading!

Vedic Astrology Signs and Their Corresponding Dates

When it comes to astrology, many people are familiar with the twelve zodiac signs based on Western astrology. However, there is another ancient system of astrology known as Vedic astrology, or Jyotish, which originated in India and has been practiced for thousands of years. One of the fundamental aspects of Vedic astrology is the division of the zodiac into twelve signs, each with its own unique characteristics and ruling planet. In this blog post, we will explore the Vedic astrology signs and their corresponding dates, providing you with a deeper understanding of this fascinating astrological system.

The Twelve Vedic Astrology Signs

Vedic astrology divides the zodiac into twelve signs, just like Western astrology. However, there is a key difference in the starting points of the signs. While Western astrology follows the tropical system based on the seasons, Vedic astrology follows the sidereal system based on the actual constellations. This means that the Vedic astrology signs align more closely with the positions of the stars in the sky.

Here are the twelve Vedic astrology signs and their corresponding ruling planets:

Sign Symbol Ruling Planet
Aries (Mesha) Ram Mars (Mangal)
Taurus (Vrishabha) Bull Venus (Shukra)
Gemini (Mithuna) Twins Mercury (Budha)
Cancer (Karka) Crab Moon (Chandra)
Leo (Simha) Lion Sun (Surya)
Virgo (Kanya) Maiden Mercury (Budha)
Libra (Tula) Scales Venus (Shukra)
Scorpio (Vrishchika) Scorpion Mars (Mangal)
Sagittarius (Dhanu) Archer Jupiter (Guru)
Capricorn (Makara) Sea-goat Saturn (Shani)
Aquarius (Kumbha) Water-bearer Saturn (Shani)
Pisces (Meena) Fish Jupiter (Guru)

The Dates of the Vedic Astrology Signs

Now that we know the names and ruling planets of the Vedic astrology signs, let’s delve into their corresponding dates. It’s important to note that the dates may vary slightly depending on the specific system or astrologer you consult. However, the general range of dates for each sign remains relatively consistent in Vedic astrology.

  • Aries (Mesha): April 14th – May 14th
  • Taurus (Vrishabha): May 15th – June 14th
  • Gemini (Mithuna): June 15th – July 15th
  • Cancer (Karka): July 16th – August 16th
  • Leo (Simha): August 17th – September 16th
  • Virgo (Kanya): September 17th – October 16th
  • Libra (Tula): October 17th – November 15th
  • Scorpio (Vrishchika): November 16th – December 15th
  • Sagittarius (Dhanu): December 16th – January 13th
  • Capricorn (Makara): January 14th – February 12th
  • Aquarius (Kumbha): February 13th – March 14th
  • Pisces (Meena): March 15th – April 13th

Understanding the Vedic Astrology Signs

Each Vedic astrology sign carries its unique symbolism and characteristics. The ruling planet associated with a particular sign influences its energy and qualities. Here, we will provide a brief overview of each sign:

Aries (Mesha)

Aries is the first sign of the zodiac and is associated with courage, leadership, and independence. People born under this sign are often assertive, enthusiastic, and dynamic.

Taurus (Vrishabha)

Taurus is the sign of stability, sensuality, and practicality. Taureans are known for their loyalty, determination, and love for luxury and comfort.

Gemini (Mithuna)

Gemini represents versatility, curiosity, and intellectual pursuits. Geminis are known for their sociability, adaptability, and excellent communication skills.

Cancer (Karka)

Cancer is associated with emotions, intuition, and nurturing. Cancerians are known for their compassion, sensitivity, and deep connection to their family and home.

Leo (Simha)

Leo is the sign of royalty, creativity, and self-expression. Leos are natural leaders, confident, and seek recognition and admiration.

Virgo (Kanya)

Virgo represents practicality, attention to detail, and a strong work ethic. Virgos are typically organized, analytical, and perfectionistic.

Libra (Tula)

Libra is associated with balance, harmony, and diplomacy. Individuals born under this sign are known for their fairness, sociability, and love for beauty and aesthetics.

Scorpio (Vrishchika)

Scorpio represents passion, intensity, and transformation. Scorpios are often mysterious, courageous, and have a deep desire for emotional and spiritual growth.

Sagittarius (Dhanu)

Sagittarius is the sign of adventure, exploration, and philosophical pursuits. Sagittarians are known for their optimism, wanderlust, and love for expanding their horizons.

Capricorn (Makara)

Capricorn represents discipline, ambition, and determination. Capricorns are typically responsible, practical, and strive for success in their chosen endeavors.

Aquarius (Kumbha)

Aquarius is associated with innovation, eccentricity, and humanitarianism. Aquarians are known for their independence, idealism, and desire to bring positive changes to society.

Pisces (Meena)

Pisces represents compassion, intuition, and spirituality. Pisceans are often imaginative, empathetic, and have a deep connection to the mystical and unseen realms.


Understanding the Vedic astrology signs and their corresponding dates allows us to gain insight into the unique characteristics and energies associated with each sign. Whether you follow Vedic astrology or simply have an interest in exploring different astrological systems, the knowledge of these signs can deepen your understanding of yourself and others. Remember, astrology is not only a tool for predicting the future but also a means to gain self-awareness and navigate life’s challenges with wisdom and resilience.


  1. Astroved – Rashi Chakra: 12 Signs of the Zodiac
  2. Astrogle – 12 Houses in Vedic Astrology

Share the Knowledge

Have you found this article insightful? Chances are, there’s someone else in your circle who could benefit from this information too. Using the share buttons below, you can effortlessly spread the wisdom. Sharing is not just about spreading knowledge, it’s also about helping to make a more valuable resource for everyone. Thank you for your support!

Vedic Astrology Signs and Their Corresponding Dates