The Order and Meaning Behind the Chinese Zodiac Signs

Are you eager to unlock even deeper insights into your destiny? Let the celestial power of the moon guide you on your journey of self-discovery. Click here to get your FREE personalized Moon Reading today and start illuminating your path towards a more meaningful and fulfilling life. Embrace the magic of the moonlight and let it reveal your deepest desires and true potential. Don’t wait any longer – your destiny awaits with this exclusive Moon Reading!

The Order and Meaning Behind the Chinese Zodiac Signs

The Chinese zodiac is an ancient classification system used in traditional Chinese astrology. Unlike the Western zodiac, which is based on the months of the year, the Chinese zodiac is based on a twelve-year cycle. Each year is associated with an animal sign, and these signs are believed to influence a person’s personality traits and destiny.

The 12 Chinese Zodiac Animals

The order of the Chinese zodiac animals is as follows:

Animal Order
Rat 1st
Ox 2nd
Tiger 3rd
Rabbit 4th
Dragon 5th
Snake 6th
Horse 7th
Goat 8th
Monkey 9th
Rooster 10th
Dog 11th
Pig 12th

Within this cycle, each animal sign is also associated with one of the five natural elements: Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, or Water. The combination of the animal sign and the element creates a 60-year cycle, which further divinates a person’s destiny and characteristics.

The Origins and Legend of the Chinese Zodiac

The origins of the Chinese zodiac can be traced back over 2,000 years to ancient Chinese astronomical observations. The legend behind the order of the zodiac signs is said to involve a great race organized by the Jade Emperor, who wished to assign twelve animals to the zodiac calendar.

In this legendary race, the Rat is believed to have won first place by tricking the Ox into giving him a ride across the river and then jumping off to claim victory. The remaining animals followed in the respective order that they finished the race.

The Characteristics of Each Chinese Zodiac Sign

Each animal sign in the Chinese zodiac represents different personality traits and characteristics. Let’s explore the meaning behind each sign:

1. Rat

People born in the Year of the Rat are known for being resourceful, adaptable, and quick-witted. They are also seen as intelligent and charming, often excelling in business and social situations.

2. Ox

Oxen are known for their diligence, determination, and honesty. Individuals born in the Year of the Ox are believed to be hardworking, patient, and reliable. They are often seen as dependable and make great leaders.

3. Tiger

Tigers are considered brave, confident, and competitive. Those born in the Year of the Tiger are thought to be bold, ambitious, and charismatic. They can be natural leaders and are often driven to succeed.

4. Rabbit

Rabbits are associated with kindness, gentleness, and sensitivity. People born in the Year of the Rabbit are often compassionate, creative, and family-oriented. They value harmony and strive for a peaceful life.

5. Dragon

The Dragon is a powerful and revered animal in Chinese culture. Those born in the Year of the Dragon are seen as confident, charismatic, and ambitious. They possess a natural magnetism and are often considered fortunate.

6. Snake

People born in the Year of the Snake are often regarded as wise, intuitive, and discreet. They are excellent problem solvers and deep thinkers. Snakes are associated with beauty, elegance, and a sense of mystery.

7. Horse

Individuals born in the Year of the Horse are known for their energy, independence, and charismatic nature. They have a strong sense of adventure and are often talented in various areas, such as communication and leadership.

8. Goat

Goats are gentle, compassionate, and creative. Those born in the Year of the Goat are often artistic, adaptable, and have a strong sense of justice. They are nurturing individuals and value relationships deeply.

9. Monkey

Monkeys are known for their intelligence, wit, and charm. People born in the Year of the Monkey are often quick learners and excellent problem solvers. They have a great sense of humor and can adapt to various situations.

10. Rooster

Roosters are confident, observant, and hardworking individuals. Those born in the Year of the Rooster are often perceived as honest, direct, and responsible. They are natural-born leaders who strive for perfection.

11. Dog

Dogs are loyal, honest, and faithful companions. People born in the Year of the Dog are considered to be trustworthy, reliable, and protective. They have a strong sense of justice and are often dedicated to their causes.

12. Pig

Pigs are associated with kindness, generosity, and a love for life. Those born in the Year of the Pig are often seen as honest, forgiving, and compassionate. They have a strong work ethic and are known to be great friends.


The Chinese zodiac order of animals not only determines the year in which a person is born but also provides insights into their personality traits and destiny. Understanding the characteristics associated with each animal sign can help individuals gain a deeper understanding of themselves and those around them. Whether you believe in astrology or not, the Chinese zodiac remains an interesting cultural tradition that has captured the fascination of people around the world.

Share the Knowledge

Have you found this article insightful? Chances are, there’s someone else in your circle who could benefit from this information too. Using the share buttons below, you can effortlessly spread the wisdom. Sharing is not just about spreading knowledge, it’s also about helping to make a more valuable resource for everyone. Thank you for your support!

The Order and Meaning Behind the Chinese Zodiac Signs